Rainy-Day Comfort Food: Turkey Noodle Soup

IMG_0713I had one of those days when you need soup. It had been raining for three days nonstop, I was tired, in a bad mood, stomach uneasy.  One of the great things about soup is its versatility. It’s a dish that allows for creativity, opens itself to whatever

you have on hand, has no one “recipe” you must always follow in order to produce a satisfying result. So I settled upon a chicken-noodle soup style soup with turkey instead of chicken (leftovers from Christmas), then experimented a little with ingredients. I kept the standard vegetable assortment–onion, carrot, celery, peas –and used ramen for the noddles, but decided to take a couple risks: one, I seasoned the soup with thyme and ginger, a combination I wasn’t sure would work (it did, luckily) and two, I used fresh celery leaves as the garnish. I wanted to use parsley, but the parsley I had in my refrigerator was getting old, and I had plenty of celery leaves. They turned out to really compliment the dish. I was worried they would make the soup too bitter, but their flavor seemed to mellow down and blend in just fine after they heated up from sitting in the hot broth.

Overall, I was please with the result. The ginger and peas gave it a touch of sweetness, the carrots and celery a nutty flavor, and the turkey and noodles a satisfying savory flavor, with a net result of well-balanced flavors. Here is a list of my ingredients (no amounts or directions; I don’t cook that way):

  • Olive oil (for frying vegetables)
  • White onion
  • Carrots
  • Celery
  • Pepper
  • Salt
  • Thyme leaves
  • Pepper flakes
  • Ginger, grated
  • Chicken broth
  • Frozen peas
  • Cooked turkey, shredded
  • Ramen noodles (*don’t use the flavor packet)
  • Celery leaves, chopped (alternatively, fresh parsley; green onions would be a good addition as well, but I didn’t have any)

 

Leave a Reply

