Chicken Mole

IMG_0732.jpg

Tonight I made chicken mole, a classic Mexican dish that varies significantly from cook to cook but definitely has a distinctive that is not for everyone. The first time I tried it, the server even suggested I try a sample first. I ended up loving the sauce’s unique blend of sweet, spicy, and sour so much that I decided to make it myself. I searched around the web for a general idea of what ingredients tend to be in most chicken mole recipes, and have since then come up with a formula that works after enough tasting and adjusting.

As for what to serve it with, I suggest either grits or rice. I usually have grits, but tonight I had rice just to save myself the stress of three pans going at once on the stove.

Here is my recipe:

  • Garlic
  • Jalapeno or Serrano peppers, finely chopped (or some kind of chile; some cooks will argue only one kind of pepper works in a recipe, but my position is that as long as it achieves the right level of spice or sweetness, it’s fine)
  • Chicken breast
  • Canola oil (for frying)
  • Lime juice
  • Tomato sauce (or paste if you prefer a thicker sauce)
  • Dark chocolate (preferably one with a chipotle flavor)
  • Salt and pepper
  • Smoked chipotle powder
  • Chili powder
  • Coriander (this is a strong spice; I recommend going very light on it)
  • Cinnamon (most recipes call for cumin as well, but I detest cumin, so I don’t use it)
  • Sesame seeds, as garnish
  • Green onions, chopped, as garnish

 

Leave a Reply

