Throwback Thursday: Chicken Parmesan

IMG_0742

Ask me to name a home-cooked meal I loved growing up and chicken Parmesan is one of the first dishes that comes to my mind. My dad is an excellent cook. He taught me to use an abundance of flavors, improvise, dump spices in rather than follow a recipe–overall be bold in my cooking. So I decided to remain as loyal as I could to his ingredients and methodology tonight. It’s not a difficult dish to execute, but as I always say, some preparations are better than others.

Chicken Parmesan is easy comfort food. Essentially spaghetti with chicken and extra cheese, it’s rich and satisfying, perfect for a post-workout dinner or something to please hungry teenagers.

Here are the ingredients I used:

  • Chicken breast, ideally flattened (tomato sauce is an excellent way to cook chicken; brown it first in the olive oil with the onions and garlic, then let it cook in the oven with a slice of Swiss cheese and the tomato sauce on top and the meat will become beautifully tender)
  • Garlic
  • Onion
  • Olive oil
  • Tomato sauce
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Sugar
  • Oregano
  • Basil
  • Swiss cheese
  • Parmesan cheese (on top of the sauce before putting it in in the oven)
  • Spaghetti noodles
Leave a Reply

