This is What Was in My Fridge Flatbread

IMG_0837.jpgOne reason I like flatbreads is their versatility. Tonight I got home late from a long day of work, tired, ready for something yummy but easy to make. Flatbreads are great for such nights. They can be as simple or as complex as you want, require little work (especially if you use dough thawed from your freezer), and are a great way to use up what you have in your refrigerator.

The above flatbread is what I dreamed up as I walked home from work. I just thought about what I had on hand, what sounded good to me, and what combinations would work. I decided I wanted mushrooms and artichokes, and thought they would pair well with the basil and green pepper I had that needed using.

Overall, I was pleased with the results. It was bold and well-balanced in flavor, and cooked perfectly.

Here is what I used (feel free to make whatever modifications that fit your fridge):

  • White onions, sliced into strips
  • Mushrooms, lightly sauteed in butter
  • Green bell pepper, diced
  • Grape tomatoes, halved
  • Artichokes
  • Chicken breast, cooked and diced
  • Parmesan cheese, shredded
  • Pepper flakes
  • Fresh basil, as garnish
  • Pizza dough, preferably homemade
Leave a Reply

