Baked Cornmeal-Crusted Catfish

IMG_0838

It’s that time of year when fish is on sale, including what I recently decided is one of my favorites: catfish. It’s great breaded and fried, but since my stove top is horribly unreliable, I decided to prepare my fish as I would if I were frying it, but I put it in the oven instead. The key is to turn the temperature up fairly high–about 450–in order to make the crust get crunchy like it’s been fried in oil. About 10 minutes should be long enough. Nobody wants overcooked fish.

One more thing: make sure to dry the fish with a paper towel before rubbing it with egg yolk, or it will likely be too soggy and the cornmeal coating won’t want to stick.

Here’s a basic recipe:

  • Catfish filet
  • Cornmeal
  • Salt and pepper
  • Cayenne
  • Parmesan cheese, grated
  • Egg yolk
  • Fresh parsley, minced, as garnish
  • Lemon juice, as garnish

That’s it 🙂

Leave a Reply

