Strawberry-Glazed Rainbow Trout

IMG_0842.jpg

Sometimes whims are better than tradition. After buying rainbow trout a few days ago an idea occurred to me: what if I put a strawberry sauce on it? I’ve put lemon, orange, lime, mango on fish, but berries were something I hadn’t tried. A quick Google search told me why:  strawberries are an uncommon, but not unheard of topping for fish, though after tonight I decided they should be.

Strawberries are great on rainbow trout. They have a beautiful sweet tartness that works perfectly in a balsamic reduction, and would also provide a nice contrast to a buttery cream sauce. I think the combination I tried tonight was nearly perfect. It’s definitely joining my list of Julia signature dishes.

Leave a Reply

