Pappardelle All’ Amatriciana with Lobster

IMG_0909.jpgI wanted pappardelle with tomato sauce tonight, but didn’t have the pork shoulder I would use to make my usual pappardelle dish and the only seafood I had was imitation lobster, so I decided to work with what I had. I made an amatriciana sauce and added the imitation lobster to give it some sweet meat flavor. I look forward to the days when I can afford to buy real lobster… I know I keep saying the fake stuff isn’t bad, but it tastes inescapably fake–like something that desperately wants to be something else but just plain doesn’t come close. I shouldn’t even be calling it lobster anything. A more accurate term would be fish-flavored tofu, which sounds disgusting, but as a huge fish lover I don’t mind.

Anyway, my thoughts: amatriciana is amazing. It’s so simple, but stands out on its own and would have been fine without the fish-flavored tofu; I just wanted meat tonight and thought it would make an interesting addition to the dish.

Here is what I used (and I don’t  ascribe to “authentic” Italian cooking, so my recipe may not meet the standard ingredients in amatriciana sauce, which is usually served over bucatini anyway):

  • Garlic
  • Red onion
  • Tomato sauce
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Sugar
  • Pepper flakes
  • Pappardelle, fresh if possible
  • Imitation lobster (or the real thing if you can, or just don’t bother…)
  • Fresh parsley, minced, as garnish
  • Fresh parmesan cheese, as garnish

And that’s it. It’s a simple dish that was perfect for the end to a long day of finals.

Leave a Reply

