Rainbow Fish Tacos

IMG_1064.jpgWhenever I put food on a plate–even if it’s just at home and no one will see it but me–I like to make sure it looks pretty. Why? Part of it due to the simple fact that we eat with our eyes before we eat with our mouths. In other words, if something looks appetizing, we expect it to taste appetizing. And it’s not merely about arranging the components of a dish nicely on a plate, but also the components themselves: I’m of the belief that if you create a beautiful array of flavors, a beautiful array of colors will result and thus the plating will be beautiful too (unless you’re a careless slob, which is a different issue entirely). One dish that follows the color rule especially is tacos, which is what I made tonight (I call them rainbow for a reason).

This is my third attempt at this variation of fish tacos. I’m pretty happy with it now that I replaced sour cream sauce with a honey lime vinaigrette I invented. I thought for a while I could stand sour cream, but I decided I just plain don’t like the stuff, even with lime juice or whatever else mixed in it. Besides, the cheese provides an element of creaminess anyway and the lime juice takes care of the tangy flavor.

A word on the peppers: ideally, use a spicy pepper like poblanos or jalepenos, but if you don’t have any/don’t feel like buying them/don’t want to risk getting the juice on your hands and feel miserable the rest of the night, bell peppers will work. Just  make sure to compensate for their lack of heat with something like cayenne or paprika or chili powder or all of the above (the best option, in my opinion).

Here’s a recipe:

For the fish (I bake it; grilling it on an outdoor would be better, but I don’t have a grill, unfortunately):

  • Whitefish (doesn’t have to be top quality; I use shitty tilapia)
  • Salt and pepper
  • Chili powder, cayenne, paprika
  • Honey

For the corn succotash (I put it in a skillet on high heat, but again an outdoor grill would be better):

  • Sweet corn, cut off the cob (or frozen if corn isn’t in season. Really, though, fresh is better…)
  • Some combination of peppers (I cheated and used red and green bells, but if you want to go more authentic use poblanos or jalepenos)
  • Salt and pepper
  • Lime juice
  • Cayenne, paprika, chili powder

Everything else:

  • Tomato
  • Red cabbage
  • Feta cheese
  • Green onions
  • Honey lime vinaigrette (olive oil, white wine vinegar, honey, lime juice, salt, pepper)
  • Mini corn tortillas

That’s it 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

